Company Profile

The University Medical Group (UMG) originated in mid-1972 as the business/accounting office for full-time clinical teaching members of the Faculty of Medicine. On April 13, 1978 a constitution was adopted which formalized the establishment of a Board of Directors and an Executive Committee. Since that time, the UMG has increased its membership from 88 members in 1972, to over 600 members today, and has added a wide range of services which are available to all members.

UMG’s function is to administer the GFT Agreement and operate a business office that supports its members with a variety of services, such as:

  • Administrative and clerical support
  • Pay and benefits sign-up/support
  • Pension plan sign-up/support
  • Human resources and labour management services
  • Accounting and financial management services
  • Manage discount programs
  • Manage insurance programs
  • Facilitate discussions among members and affiliated organizations
  • Research and resolve issues
  • Consult, liaise and advocate on behalf of members.
to top

Vision Statement

University Medical Group will support and promote the development of GFT members and their Departments within the Max Rady College of Medicine in their pursuit of excellence.

Mission Statement

The Mission is to promote clinical and academic excellence by:

  • Representing and advocating on behalf of GFT members;
  • Providing professional, independent business management expertise and services to support individual GFT members and staff;
  • Facilitation of Human Resources, as needed, to assist members and their Departments;
  • Providing a consultation and liaison resource for members, Departments and external agencies;
  • Providing opportunities for selected programs and the underwriting of specific benefits for members and staff;
  • Providing services which help attract, retain and reward competent and dedicated faculty and staff.


  • Integrity
  • Accountability
  • Member/Customer Focus
  • Excellence
  • Service Orientated
  • Professionalism
to top

Board of Directors

Dean of Max Rady College of Medicine

  • Dr Brian Postl (ex-officio)

Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine

  • Dr. Chris Christodoulou – Department Head
  • Dr. Trevor Lee – Executive Committee Member

Department of Clinical Health Psychology

  • Dr. Lesley Graff – Department Head
  • Dr. Lesley Koven – Board Member
  • Dr. Elizabeth Hebert – Board Member

Department of Community Health Sciences

  • Dr. Sharon Bruce – Department Head
  • Dr. Lawrence Elliot – Board Member
  • Dr. Pierre Plourde – Board Member

Department of Emergency Medicine

  • Dr. Jose Francois – Interim Department Head
  • Dr. Wes Palatnick – Board Member

Department of Family Medicine

  • Dr. Jose Francois – Department Head
  • Dr. Nene Rush – Executive Committee Member
  • Dr. Michael Polan – Board Member

Department of Internal Medicine

  • Dr. Ebi Renner – Department Head
  • Dr. Anita Soni – Board Member
  • Dr. Harminder Singh – Board Member

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

  • Dr. Mary Jane Seager – Department Head
  • Dr. Alon Altman – Executive Committee Member (President & Board Chair)
  • Dr. Margaret Burnett – Board Member

Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery

  • Dr. Jodi Jones – Department Head and Executive Committee Member
  • Dr. Darren Leitao – Executive Committee Member (Past President)
  • Dr. Kristine Smith – Board Member

Department of Pathology

  • Dr. Gabor Fischer – Department Head
  • Dr. Sherry Krawitz – Board Member
  • Dr. Cynthia Santos – Board Member

Department of Pediatrics and Child Health

  • Dr. Patricia Birk – Department Head
  • Dr. Geert ‘t Jong – Board Member
  • Dr. Maury Pinsk – Board Member

Department of Psychiatry

  • Dr. Jitender Sareen – Department Head
  • Dr. Kurt Skakum – Executive Committee Member (Vice President)
  • Dr. Mandana Modirrousta – Board Member

Department of Radiology

  • Dr. Marco Essig – Department Head

Department of Surgery

  • Dr. Ed Buchel – Department Head
  • Dr. Colin Kazina – Executive Committee Member
  • Dr. Leif Sigurdson – Board Member
to top